Skip to main content

How the NHS COVID-19 app works How the app works

The app is free and simple to use. Once you’ve downloaded the app, Bluetooth technology on your phone will record the distance between other phones that also have the app installed. If you become unwell with symptoms of coronavirus, you can allow the app to inform the NHS. This will trigger a notification that the NHS will then send anonymously to all other app users who you’ve been in significant contact with over the previous few days. Affected app users will be sent official NHS advice on what to do next.

The app will be part of a wider approach that will involve contact tracing and testing for the virus. The app complements more traditional measures that, seamlessly working together, protects vulnerable groups and those who cannot or do not want to access digital tools.

Although the app records distances between individual phones, it will not measure your location. The data in the app will only ever be used for NHS care, management, evaluation and research.

You can delete the app and all of its data whenever you want. We’ll always comply with the law around the use of your data.